CONDITIONAL SENTENCES

ENGLISH PLANET
4 min readMay 25, 2021

--

Conditional tenses are used to speculate about what could happen, what might have happened, and what we wish would happen. In English, most sentences using the conditional contain the word if. Many conditional forms in English are used in sentences that include verbs in one of the past tenses. This usage is referred to as “the unreal past” because we use a past tense but we are not actually referring to something that happened in the past. There are five main ways of constructing conditional sentences in English. In all cases, these sentences are made up of an if clause and the main clause. In many negative conditional sentences, there is an equivalent sentence construction using “unless” instead of “if”.

There are four types of conditional sentences:

1. Zero Conditional

The zero conditional is used for when the time being referred to is now or always and the situation is real and possible. The zero conditional is often used to refer to general truths. The tense in both parts of the sentence is the simple present. In zero conditional sentences, the word “if” can usually be replaced by the word “when” without changing the meaning.

> Facts/True

> Habits

> Rules

> Instructions

FORM: (If/when + Simple Present, Simple Present)

Example:

· When the sun sets, it gets dark.

· If you leave milk out, it spoils. (General fact)

· If the power goes out, we can’t watch TV.

· If she doesn’t call, I’m annoyed. (General fact)

2. First Conditional

The type 1 conditional is used to refer to the present or future where the situation is real. The type 1 conditional refers to a possible condition and its probable result. In these sentences the if clause is in the simple present, and the main clause is in the simple future.

Use for:

> Predictions

>Superstitions

> Plans

> Promises

> Offers

> Suggestions

> Warnings

FORM: (If/when + Present Simple, Present Future)

Example:

· If you don’t eat now, you’ll be hungry later

· If she doesn’t call, I’ll be annoyed.

· When the sun sets, it will get cold.

· If aliens arrive on earth, I will greet them!

· If you leave the milk out, it will spoil. (Advice or warning about the present)

3. Second Conditional

The type 2 conditional is used to refer to a time that is now or any time, and a situation that is unreal. These sentences are not based on fact. The type 2 conditional is used to refer to a hypothetical condition and its probable result. In type 2 conditional sentences, the if clause uses the simple past, and the main clause uses the present conditional.

FORM: (If + Past Simple, … would + Infinitive)

Used for:

  1. To imagine life is different

>Things in the future that are unlikely.

>Things that are impossible in the present.

Example:

a. If she lived in London, she would have English friends.

b. If I didn’t want to go, I would tell you.

c. If I didn’t finish my homework, I wouldn’t tell my teacher.

2. Hypothetical Questions

To ask someone to imagine what they would do in a different situation.

Example:

a. What would you do if you quit the job?

b. If you won a million dollars, would you travel the world?

3. Give Advice

Example:

a. If I were you, I’d talk to my boss before I quit the job.

b. If I were her, I’d break up with him.

4. Give Reasons

Example:

a. If I had the money, I’d lend it to you.

b. If I wasn’t so busy, I would invite you over for dinner.

4. Third Conditional

The type 3 conditional is used to refer to a time that is in the past, and a situation that is contrary to reality. The facts they are based on are the opposite of what is expressed. The type 3 conditional is used to refer to an unreal past condition and its probable past result. In type 3 conditional sentences, the if clause uses the past perfect, and the main clause uses the perfect conditional.

>Talk about past

>Unreal Past

FORM: (If + Past Perfect, Perfect Conditional (would have+V3))

Example:

· If I had left earlier, I wouldn’t have missed my flight.

· If you hadn’t been so rude, they would have invited you back.

· If you had called me, I would have come.

Notes:

“would” can change with “could (Probability/certainty) or might (possibility/ability)”.

Example:

If she had studied more, she might have passed.

If you had lent me your car, I could have got there faster.

Let’s play the games link below and get a certificate!!! https://www.proprofsgames.com/ugc/word-search/conditional-sentences-1/

References:

https://www.ef.com/wwen/english-resources/english-grammar/conditional/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYdIhPgIDkg&t=562s

https://www.youtube.co m/watch?v=71u-NoY4Ag8

--

--

ENGLISH PLANET

Learning English Area, by: Mia Choiriah Alfiyah (201912500142) R4B. Computer Assisted Language Learning (CALL), Final Exam.